Administrative Center – v.Maya
Population – 32288 (census 2002)
Settlements – 35
Territory – 11.2 thousand km2
Agriculture, stock raising, stud farming.
Distance from Yakutsk – by land – 52 km
by air – 70 km
Regional Administration phone : +7(41143)42008, fax :+7(41143)42421
of the tourism potential of Megino-Kangalassky Ulus.
The big settlements are Maja village – the ulus center, Nizhny Bestjakh, Tungulu, Buteidjakh, Pavlovsk, Khaptagay, Tabaga, Tekhtur.
On the land of the megines in 1634 Ivan Galkin built the second Lensky stockage. In 1732-1744 on the land of the kangalasts at Tamma river stood the Tamginsky iron foundry working for the Second Kamchatskaja expedition.
The Ivan Ponomarev tower was built in 1830s. At present the tower is situated on the territory of the Mayinsky museum. Two-floors’ tower in the area of Kukuna of the Batarinsky nasleg belonged to Peter Nazarovich Serguchev (Bollos). There is the tower in the area of Biekine of the Altansky nasleg. These monuments are closely connected with Vasily Manchaary.
Innokentjevskaja church (1823) in Buteidjakh village was built on the initiative of Konstantin Popov (Tuunuku Kostokuun).
Yakutian booth of Nikiforovs is in the area of Asykay of the Tyllyminsky nasleg (middle of 19th century).
Kushnarevs’ Chapel is in Pavlovsk village (the end of 19th century).
One of the first sites of the ancient yakutians is in the area of Kulun Atakh 3 km to the west of Matta village (14th -15th centuries).
On the 20s of June the traditional festival Ysyakh is conducted.
Today the museum net in the ulus consists of 1 state, 7 school’s and 8 sorcery museums. From them the most big museums are:
Megino-Kangalassky museum of revolutionary, battle and working glory.
Khaptagay school’s museum of local glory, history and economy.
Museum of local glory, history, and economy in the Innokentjevskaja church (Buteidjakh village).
F.K. Popov memorial museum in the Batarinskaja school.
Tekhturskaja school’s museum of local lory, history, and economy.
K.K. Baikalov house-museum (Tabaga village).
The main kinds of people activities are stock-raising and field-crop cultivation. Megino-Kangalassky ulus is one of the most large agricultural ulus of Republic Sakha (Yakutia), produces the meat and milk production, vegetables.
There is branched road net connecting all villages of the ulus, and therefore the main means of transportation are buses, automobiles. In summer time from Yakutsk to ulus center you may get by river (the ferry) to Nizhny Bestjakh berth and then by ground transport. In winter time the ground roads are 50 km. Through ulus lies the arterial (gravel) road [main line] of republic importance N-Bestjakh – Amga.
There are medical services in all big settlements as well as water and power supply, telecommunications. Average low temperature in winter is (-40) – (-50) grades centigrade, and in summer (+25) – (+30) grades centigrade.
Ulus comes in to the area of the average-taiga deciduous sometimes pine forests. Flora and fauna are typical of the central Yakutia. In forests dwell about 10 species of the fur-bearing animals.
The potential tourism sights are the area of Ahyykai near to Lomtuka village, the homeland of the famous tradesman – millionaire G.V. Nikifirov-Mannjyattaakh uola, and the area of Aryylaakh where was bourn legendary hero, protector of poor men Vasily Slobodchikov – Manchaary.
In the ulus there is tourist-ethnographical complex “Soto” .